Uncertainty of Marcoeconomy

Application page:

Still confused about the erratic economy?
Ever wonder how the market prices uncertainty which ever grows with time?
Interested in how to tackle the mutable economy with appropriate policies?

Uncertainty is unknown risks, and is ubiquitous in economic activities of human society. Researches of financial markets show that investors not only care about uncertainty itself, but also its variance with time, which makes investors to make radical decisions sometimes, and conservative decisions some other times.   
Because of the unknowable and unpredictable nature of uncertainty, it has always been a hard problem to introduce uncertainty into economic analyses.

Why is uncertainty worth attention? In fact, all aspects of economy are subject to it. Mathematical models can predict when environment changes, when policies change, or when taxes change, when exchange rates change, when monetary policies change, etc. Models are dynamic. they are thus able to capture various variables in economy and handle different problems under different circumstances.

About the speaker:
Recipient of Nobel Prize in Economics in 2013, David Rockefeller Distinguished Service Professor at the University of Chicago, former director of Becker Friedman Institute, member of the National Academy of Sciences, and member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Professor Hansen is a distinguished scholar researching in the field of economic dynamics. He made great contributions to the research of the inherent relevance of macroeconomy and financial market as well as to the field of time-sequence econometrics.

He worked with 2011 Nobel Prize in Economics laureate Thomas J. Sargent, and groundbreakingly introduced the concept of uncertainty in decision theory and dynamic control theory into macroeconomics and finance, while also established a theoretical framework for systematically analysing how people make decisions when faced with uncertainty and risks, and how uncertaity influences capital asset pricing and economic policy making.

Professor Hansen also put great emphases in developing young economics scholars, and influenced them with his rigorous and rational educational philosophy. His protégés now assume important positions in academic, economic analysis and financial institutions across the world.
Lars Peter Hansen
2017-11-16 19:00:00
2nd floor lecture hall, FIT building, Tsinghua University
Open range
Graduate Union of Tsinghua University
Registration requirements
No need to register
Lecture to accommodate

共话宏观经济不确定性

讲座说明
报名页面:
https://www.wjx.top/m/17960411.aspx

还在面对飘忽不定的经济形势一脸茫然吗?
想知道市场对于随时间推移不断增加的
不确定性如何定价?
有兴趣了解多变经济环境中
如何以经济政策应对?

不确定性即未知风险,其广泛存在于人类社会的经济活动中。金融市场的研究表明,投资者不仅关注不确定性,还关注不确定性在不同时期的变化,也使得投资者的决策有时大胆而有时保守。

由于不确定性的不可知以及不可估计的性质,使得在经济分析中引入不确定性成为一个难题。

不确定性为何值得重视?其实经济的各个方面都是如此:数学模型能够在环境出现变动时,政策出现变动,或税收的变动,或者汇率变动、货币政策出现变动的时候,做出预判。模型是动态的,它们能够抓住在经济运行当中各种各样的变量,并且能够应对在各种环境当中出现的问题。

主讲人简介:
2013诺贝尔经济学奖获得者,芝加哥大学大卫·洛克菲勒荣誉讲席教授,贝克尔弗里德曼研究院院长,美国科学院院士,美国艺术与科学院院士。

Hansen教授是研究经济动态的国际知名学者,他对宏观经济与金融市场内在相关性的研究以及时间序列计量经济学等领域的研究发展做出了突出贡献。

他与2011年诺贝尔经济学奖得主Thomas J. Sargent合作,开创性地将决策理论、动态控制理论中的不确定性和稳健型决策引入宏观经济学、金融学等领域,还建立了理论框架以系统地分析人在面对不确定性和风险时如何做出经济决策,及不确定性对资产定价和经济政策制定的影响。

Hansen教授重视对年轻经济学学者的培养,并以严谨而科学的治学态度影响着他们。他的学生以及学生的学生在世界各国的学术机构,经济分析机构和金融机构担任重要的职务。
主讲人/嘉宾
Lars Peter Hansen
讲座时间
2017-11-16 19:00:00
讲座地点
清华大学FIT楼2层报告厅
开放对象
教工
研究生
本科生
主办单位
清华大学研究生会
报名要求
不需要报名(按时到场参加即可)
讲座容纳人数
100